SCMWise.com

HP Service Manager Review

by Don
(Philadelphia, PA, USA)

HP Service Manager Review


HP Service Manager Implementation:

  • HP Configuration Management

  • HP Change Management

  • HP Universal Configuration Management Database

  • HP Discovery and Dependency Mapping Software

    We are a large finance company with locations all over the world.

    In the past, we struggled with multiple tool sets, multiple processes and no one single source of data truth.

    After implementing the HP tool set, we have seen a dramatic reduction in time to gather data about our networks, servers, software and applications.

    We feel much more confident in our data. We have a single source of truth.

    In addition to better tracking of changes, we can quickly determine a changes impact to dependent systems.

    Having one unified tool set has allowed us to better plan, manage and support our infrastructure and application environments.

  • Comments for HP Service Manager Review

    Average Rating starstar

    Click here to add your own comments

    Nov 03, 2014
    Rating
    star
    Really?
    by: Anonymous

    BMC Remedy and ServiceNow beat the pants off of Service Manager. Having worked with all, I simply do not understand how this is sold as a solutions system when everything is manual, nothing auto-advances and key areas in each ticket are not locked for audit purposes.

    It's no longer a surprise to see why HP is in the trouble they're in. If Service Manager was developed to compete - it's an epic fail!

    Mar 18, 2014
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    Utter crap.
    by: Anonymous

    I am borderline in refusing to use this utter crap.

    Our glorious leaders replaced our ageing, but working, previous system with this one because "it integrates with Oracle".

    Problem is that it only connects to Oracle GRID with an ancient version... the new software version doesnt work!

    But that aside. The version we do have it terrible. For instance...

    If your working on a ticket - you had better copy/paste it to notepad regularly as it has a habit of wiping the screen for no apparent reason...

    Or... try using the search facility. My 5 year old could write a better system. It is horrific and rarely returns the result you want...

    Or.. lets say you open up a ticket and assign it to another team. Common thing to do? Well good luck in finding it. After you submit the ticket - screen goes blank and it asks you to submit a NEW ticket... since your in the new ticket screen... and unless you happened to write down the IM number as you were keying in the details you wont find the ticket... as the search facility is so borked.

    ANYONE that recommends this POS for corporate investment should get the sack. Fired. Public Whipping. Burnt Alive. It has also turned our team of highly motivated self starters to a miserable bunch of snipers. And EVERY ONE of us is looking for a new job.

    Thats what HPSM will do to your company.

    Nov 30, 2013
    Rating
    star
    Absolutely awful
    by: Anonymous

    We've had this garbage inflicted on us to replace our previous Case Management system. This one is awful. There is no space for the description of the problem (Surely an important key requirement is to see the actual issue without having to cut and paste it into notepad!). The interface is absolute garbage. There is no way to see or manage actual issues - hidden within badly designed and laughable sorting queues. Any hope of managing any complicated workflows is smashed by this useless software. You simply cannot see the actual status or allocation of the tasks you are trying to work with. The whole thing is clunky, unworkable and badly designed. If you have a choice - avoid it.

    Oct 02, 2013
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    Best tool kit on the market..
    by: Service Manager Developer

    You can do ANYTING with this software if you know how to use it. By the comments I assume users are complaining about the out of box system. That is just an example of what can be done. I have been developing on this software for twenty years. My customers are very happy!

    Apr 14, 2013
    Rating
    star
    1 star is for the product, not the page.
    by: Anonymous

    We "upgraded" from HP OpenView to Service Manager. After about 6 months in full operation, the vast bulk of staff using the "Change Management" component of the tool wish for OpenView to return.

    Just a few UI issues off the top of my head:
    - Change Tasks - Returning to sender. Used to take 2 seconds in OpenView with a single command. Now, i need to find where it came from by the parent change. ~30sec. This only works when the parent change is in the 'right' workgroup - if they happened to assign it elsewhere, well, too bad. Half the time i have to go directly to the owner via the phone or IM and ask them where it's supposed to be.

    - After entering a detail, i can't press 'enter' - i HAVE to CLICK the icon. Wastes time/inefficient.

    - After i assign a Change Task and save it, it stays in my queue until i click 'refresh' in my queue view.

    - CTs assigned to my queue don't appear as soon as they are assigned. I have to 'refresh' it constantly with no option to auto-refresh that i can see.

    - Can't copy/paste many areas. Doesn't accept keyboard copy/paste sometimes.

    - Can't click "open parent record". Have to manually search for it.

    - We now have to write reports in Excel from scratch, instead of simply exporting it and formatting it (like we did in OpenView).

    - The only way to find changes i am deploying is for me to maintain a separate list in a separate tool (like Excel). The implementation team is simply not specified in any fields.

    - Required follow up action gives no notification to any stakeholders. One must use external communication or shovel the change record from place to place. In OpenView, you could email the assignee, or the requestor, or the owner or others when a comment was made in the progress log with a tick of a box. Can't do that in Service Manager.

    The above just scratches the surface, it's just off the top of my head. I kid you not, in this large organisation (some 40,000 staff), this tool simply can NOT manage Change Management. It is awful - don't buy it, even if it is cheap.

    You have been warned.

    Feb 18, 2013
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    My ass hurts when using HPSM!
    by: Anonymous

    Hurts a lot!

    Feb 08, 2013
    Rating
    starstarstarstar
    HP Integration Service are Terrible
    by: Anonymous

    I used HP to integrate their crappy software. After two years they were not able to deliver. Don't buy into their BS of an integrated enterprise application. HP will milk you for every dollar they can get without ever delivering. What a crappy company.

    Dec 07, 2012
    Rating
    star
    Worst application
    by: Anonymous

    We have migrated from unicentre to HPSM and the interface is so clumsy, not user-friendly and so on.... Much difficult to work with this.

    Sep 14, 2012
    Rating
    star
    Awful
    by: Anonymous

    We migrated form Touchpaper to this and I have to say it is painful to use. It is forever freezing, the search facility is woeful and case sensitive(why?). It is a struggle to get other teams to even look at it and most try and use their email to manage their queues. Terrible piece of software that has made my job much more difficult.

    Jun 02, 2012
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    Wonderful
    by: Anonymous

    I just finished a training session as our company is switching to hp service manager and all these reviews confirm exactly what I saw in the training.

    Feb 23, 2012
    Rating
    star
    Avoid this like the plague.
    by: Anonymous

    This is hands down the worst piece of software ive used. Ever.

    We made the transition from peregrine to this, and so far our morale/productivity/efficiancy have all plummeted. As much as I love my ticket that im working on taking 15 minutes to close ( with a 20 second pause every time you click a button or switch screens) this program blows.

    Also did i menttion the page cannot be displayed messages? Love those! What a great feature! Want to escalate an incident? NOPE "Page cannot be displayed". Want to check your work queue? NOPE. "Page cannot be displayed". And dont get me started on how I love the account timeouts in the middle of updating a ticket.

    This program blows.

    Dec 29, 2011
    Rating
    star
    Worst application I've ever used
    by: Anonymous

    I've been in the IT industry for over 15 years now and I can say without a doubt that this application is by far, the worst application I've ever used. I don't recall ever having taken the time to write a review but this application is that bad - so bad that I just had to put this warning out there.

    As previously stated, the interface is not intuitive and very inflexible. There are numerous usage paths to take that lead to dead ends - where you have to contact an administrator to delete a task or configuration item just to proceed. For example, it won't accept the start time of a task, but also won't allow you to change it.

    Oct 03, 2011
    Rating
    star
    God awful
    by: Anonymous

    Hpsm is god awful. It's slow (we have 32gb ram trying to run it); the search feature is bizarre (you have to search each module individually since it didn't occur to hp to use the same number sequence for changes, incident etc). The quality is poor, e.g. it will let you enter negative time when adding an update (why?). You can enter any status you like, it doesn't validate them.

    Who wrote this rubbish? You'd get better results with post-it-notes or a spreadsheet.

    Jun 30, 2011
    Rating
    star
    Need I say more than this
    by: Anonymous

    Need I say more than this:

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/HP-Service-Manager-is-the-worst-piece-of-software-in-the-world/111525055555184

    Feb 24, 2011
    Rating
    star
    +1 Crap!
    by: Anonymous

    Stay away from HP Service Manager! Refuse to waste my time to elaborate on details, this junk already consumed enough of it.

    Jan 27, 2011
    Rating
    star
    Crap
    by: Anonymous

    uCMDB is an abomination of a product. The user interface performs horribly unless you happen to be on the same switch as the server. Don't even think about trying to use it over a WAN. Support from the surely Indians at HP is a joke also.

    Jan 14, 2011
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    Alternative
    by: Anonymous

    If you are on HP Service Desk 4.5, have a look at PROLIN then. They offer a new suite which avoids difficult migrations. I am evaluating this currently and I like it. I am curious what my boss will say, when he's back next week, and I tell hem that I will use less of his budget, while I keep all the customizations I did in the past.

    To be continued...

    Jan 06, 2011
    Rating
    star
    HPSM7
    by: Anonymous

    Not probably but definitely the worst Customer Service Desk software I have encountered.
    The ITIL compliance and reporting might be a big draw card as well as the HP logo but that is where it ends. Administrative overhead is time consuming while the customer still waits for a simple problem to be resolved where other systems can do it in half the time if not less. The layout of the interface is terrible, although configurable, still counterproductive. Makes me wonder how crap previous versions were.

    Jan 06, 2011
    Rating
    starstarstarstarstar
    HPSM7
    by: Anonymous

    Not probably but definitely the worst Customer Service Desk software I have encountered.
    The ITIL compliance and reporting might be a big draw card as well as the HP logo but that is where it ends. Administrative overhead is time consuming while the customer still waits for a simple problem to be resolved where other systems can do it in half the time if not less. The layout of the interface is terrible, although configurable, still counterproductive. Makes me wonder how crap previous versions were.

    Nov 04, 2010
    Rating
    star
    Stay away, stay far away
    by: Anonymous

    I am the administrator of a fairly large and complex Service Manager install for a managed services company. We migrated from HP Service Desk to HP Service Manager because Service Desk is end of life. We went with Service Manager because we were able to transfer our Service Desk licenses to Service Manager saving us hundreds of thousand of dollars in licensing fees we would have had to spend for a different package.
    Despite the "savings" everyone from the users to the administrators to management all agree the software is crap. We wish we would have spent the money on a different package because it would have been cheaper in the long run and we would not be stuck with this POS. Stay away from this and any other software HP comes out with. It will ruin your life.

    Nov 01, 2010
    Rating
    star
    HP Service Manager
    by: Anonymous

    HP Service mManager is crapware.

    - The interface is counter-intuitive, clumsy and slow. It feels like it's designed by a someone without any knowledge of GUI design.
    - The interface does not work properly with browsers such as Chrome or Firefox.
    - The browser-based client performs poorly across all platforms, and especially so on non-Microsoft operating systems.
    - The non-browser client is windows-only even though it is written in java. The client is also cludgy and performs poorly.
    - Impossible to properly customize the interface look and feel.
    - It's horribly overpriced.

    This is not a tool that anyone would be able to use on a daily basis without going mad.

    Jun 15, 2010
    Rating
    starstar
    Hp Service Manager Interface Not Friendly
    by: Anonymous

    The interface is complicated and inflexible. Intuitiveness on a scale of very to least is leaning towards least.

    The layout takes up the most important areas of screen-space for the least important information.

    If you are not the one pulling up the reports, I can see how you feel about the "single source of truth" and the "dramatic reduction in time to gather data".

    But, take a peek at the expense for stuffing the data into this system given the poorly designed interface.

    Click here to add your own comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Configuration Management Software.



    SCMWise Configuration Spec



    © Copyright 2007 - 2016
    Powered by Site Build It!
    Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape SCMWise.com's Privacy Policy
    ADD TO YOUR SOCIAL BOOKMARKS: add to BlinkBlink add to Del.icio.usDel.icio.us add to DiggDigg
    add to FurlFurl add to GoogleGoogle add to SimpySimpy add to SpurlSpurl Bookmark at TechnoratiTechnorati add to YahooY! MyWeb